On 17th February 2005, during a day/night match, Ricky Ponting, the scorer of 71 centuries in ODI’s and tests, and the captain of twice world cup winning Australian Men’s cricket team under the command of him, scored 98* runs facing just 55 deliveries, hitting 8 fours and 5 maximums (sixes), with an healthy strike rate of 178.18, and helped his team setting a big target of 214 to chase for Black Caps in 20 overs at the rate of 10.75 per over. As evident from the brutal hammering of Ricky Ponting, New Zealanders failed to achieve the target and the whole team was in dug out in 20 overs scoring 170 runs, losing the match by 44 runs. This was the first international T20 game ever played under the administration of International Cricket Council. Contemplating over the popularity and likeness of this format, ICC decided to organize a global event named ICC T20 World Championship alike the 50/50 World Cricket Cup and 50/50 Champions Trophy. The first tournament was played in 2007. After every two years, the tournament is held. But there are some exceptions in the holding of the tournaments as the 20/20 World Cup of 2010, which technically had to be in action in 2011, but it was conducted in 2010 because the ICC 50/50 WCC had been scheduled in 2011. The last ICC T20 tournament was played in 2016 and it’s 2019 now. In 2018, the event would have been organized but ICC thought of arousing the people’s greater attention when it comes to the ground. The grand finales of grand T20 world cups are described below scientifically (pondering over the records only):

The two adjacent cricket rivals made through to the grand finale. The venue of the vibrant final was Johannesburg, the capital of Pretoria, and it was played on 24th of September, 2007. India won the toss and elected to bat first, believing in the might of their batting. They made a total of 157 runs with a fantastic fifty of Gautam Gambhir, who scored 74 runs, striking beautiful ground shots (8 fours). Another good batting display was by Rohit Sharma, who with the strike rate of 187.50, highest amongst Indian players, made 30 runs with two fours an 1 six. For Pakistan cricket team, the chasing has always been the problem. This day was no different. The batting line of Pakistan cricket team collapsed, and at the score of 77, 6 wickets had fallen. The only hope was a newbie, Misbah-ul-Haq, who handled his nerves and the victory felt very proximal, but he couldn’t acquire it, as he was out after making 43 runs, inclusive of 5 sixes.

during the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 Final between India and Sri Lanka at Sher-e-Bangla Mirpur Stadium on April 6, 2014 in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

This final is reported to be played on one of the historic grounds, Lord’s. The match started at the local time 15:00. After winning the toss and electing to bat first, Sri Lanka could only score 138 runs against the aggressive bowling of Pakistan. Only Kumar Sangakkara and Angelo Mathews could stand firm at crease. Sanga scored a cautious fifty of 52 balls with not a single six. The target seemed not to be problematic for Pakistan batsmen. From Pakistan side, Shahid Afridi scored a stylish fifty, comprising of 2 fours and 2 sixes, and only 2 wickets of Pakistan fell down. It wasn’t a nail-biting contest.

Before ICC 2019 50/50 WCC, England had only one title excluding Champions Trophy and that is of ICC Twenty20 WCC 2010. On 16th of May, 2010, at the Bridgetown, the final was played between two another ancient cricket rivals: Australia and England. After winning the toss, English bowlers restricted Kangaroos to bat independently. The earlier dents (the earlier departure of Shane Watson and David Warner), with which Australia was suffered, blocked the fuller exposition of its batting powers. Their total score was 147 with the considerable 59 runs of David Hussey. The Australian bowling, on the contrary couldn’t leave an impact over English batting, and they chased the target 18 balls before, with the impactful innings of C Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen of 63 and 47 runs respectively.


SRI LANKA vs. West Indies-2012:
Electing to bat first paved the way for West Indies’ win on the slower batting surface. The match, scheduled on 7th October 2012, at R. Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo, began with the falling down of the first West Indies’ wicket of Johnson Charles in the first over. The only batsman worth mentioning from Windies’ side is, Marlon Samuels, who thrashed 6 sixes and 3 fours and scored 78 runs from 56 deliveries. Another committed player who displayed a cameo was, Darren Sammy, who, facing 15 balls piled up necessary 26 runs at the end of innings. In reply, 8 Sri Lankan batsmen couldn’t get into the double figuresa. The batsmen, who resisted a bit, were Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, and Nuwan Kulasekara. The spinning deliveries of Sunil Narine and Samuel Badree made it impossible for the I-landers to attain the target and they fell 36 runs short.

It was the 3rd consecutive final of Sri Lankan team and this time, it was their turn to lift the trophy. At Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, Dhaka, Indian team couldn’t score big that concluded in the defeat of Indian cricket team on 6th April 2014. Indian team, batting first, invited by Sri Lanka, could place a total of130 runs only. The true demonstration of Indian batting was depended on Virat Kohli, whose individual score was more than 50% of the whole team’s score. Sri Lanka chased the sub-standard target quite easily with the 52 runs of Kumar Sangakkara.

The only team winning the ICC 20/20 World Cup twice is West Indies, whose heighted players love to throw the balls out of the park incessantly. English team, reaching the finals once again, was struck from some blows (the falling of wickets of Alex Hales, Jason Roy, and Eoin Morgan) in the earlier part of their innings, but recovered handsomely with the charge of 54 (36) runs by Joe Root. A good total of 155 runs was set for West Indians. Chasing the target, West Indians openers forgot how to bat and went back to the pavilion, but then, the man of crisis, Marlon Samuels, stood firmly and scored not out 85 runs. The closure of the match was mesmerizing and breath-taking, when 19 runs were needed in the last over. The batsman was Carlos Brathwaite and the bowler was Ben Stokes, both the all-rounders. Ben Stokes bowled the first delivery of his over, Brathwaite hammered it, and it flied high and fell out of the boundary line. The next ball, the very same result. The next ball, again, the same result. The match ended with another six on the 4th delivery of Ben Stokes’ over.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here